Consulting

SLR Library Development staff will be glad to answer your basic questions on library administration, library board development and training, library law issues, Federations, E-Rate, Public Library Standards and Statistics, resources available for new directors, weeding and cataloging, and personnel issues.   They will be available to guide you to existing MSL online resources, documentation and calendar deadlines in the areas of consulting services.  They can refer you to statewide traveling consultants if you need additional, more in-depth follow up assistance with particular situations, questions and needs. The three Statewide Consulting Librarians are assigned to individual public libraries within specified consulting territories.  These territories are based on the six Library Federations.  Click on the Federation links below to see each consultant’s assigned libraries. 

South Central and Sagebrush Federations:  Pam Henley

Tamarack and Pathfinder Federations:  Lauren McMullen

Broad Valleys and Golden Plains Federations:  Suzanne Reymer

Please feel free to contact SLR staff members with your questions:

Tracy Cook – Director of Statewide Library Resources – 406-444-9816, tcook2@mt.gov

Cara Orban – Statewide Projects Librarian – 406-444-5350, corban@mt.gov  Administers LSTA-supported statewide projects including the Montana Shared Catalog, MontanaLibrary2Go, OCLC, statewide databases, and courier project.

Jennifer Birnel – Montana Memory Project Director – 855-259-0894, 406-466-3739, jbirnel@mt.gov  Coordinates the Montana Memory Project and provides support for digital initiatives.

Jo Flick – Training and Development Specialist – 406-431-1081, jflick@mt.gov  Coordinates statewide continuing education for librarians and certification program for public librarians.

Lauren McMullen – Statewide Consulting Librarian – 866-730-1681, lmcmullen@mtlib.org  Provides consulting and advisory services to public librarians and trustees.

Suzanne Reymer – Statewide Consulting Librarian – 888-826-0837, sreymer@mtlib.org   Provides consulting and advisory services to public librarians and trustees.  Provides support for e-rate, bandwidth, public computing centers and digital literacy.

Pam Henley – Statewide Consulting Librarian – 855-419-2616, phenley@mtlib.org   Provides consulting and advisory services to public librarians and trustees.

Jemma Hazen – Technical Services Assistant – 406-444-0242, jhazen2@mt.gov

Amy Marchwick – Montana Shared Catalog Training and Technical Support – 406-548-2539, amarchwick@mt.gov

Michael Price – Information Specialist – 406-444-5377, miprice@mt.gov  Montana Library Directory, Montana Shared Catalog